potd047

Hey everyone! It’s the Tom & Kelly show! Here’s my companionable companion of childhood, my brother Tom. I was probably four, he was probably seven, and the sofa behind us was probably cool at the time. We were in Kansas when this photo was taken — a place that taught me about the terror of tornadoes and the appeal of geographic contour. We spent our days riding bikes, watching semis drive by on the distant highway, making magic marker tattoos and doing gymnastics in the family room. We moved to Colorado when I was five and my whole universe shifted from suburban life on the flat plain of Kansas to remote mountain living in the Rockies.

Tom and mountains remain my steadfast companions.

7 comments

Leave a Reply

