An October afternoon at Butchart Gardens, in photos. Heavenly! Are words even necessary? Not really, other than mentioning that Butchart Gardens is just outside Victoria on Vancouver Island. Trails lead through 55 acres of trees, plants and flowers, still cared for by the Butchart family more than 100 years after Jennie Butchart transformed the former limestone quarry into a complex of gardens with regional themes. And the dahlias! My favorite part — a perfect blend of art and science in every bloom. Enjoy!

27 comments

  1. Every one of these is brilliant, but the orange hues are the sunny winners for me! The leaves, the blooms – wow. I’ll be sad when all this foliage is gone for the winter … guess I’ll have to head for warmer shores!

    Like

    1. I totally agree! The orange hues were mesmerizing. Hard to believe such pure, bright colors exist naturally. But yeah, leaves are dropping and color is going away. Time to get out the skis! Got your email — you really are headed for warmer shores! Will reply today. Enjoy your weekend! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Whew! Just lovely shots, especially love the blooms and leafy thingys. If I were going to miss something (because I live in a desert) it would be autumn! And mountains. And streams. And color.

    Like

    1. Yes! Isn’t autumn magnificent? I can see why you miss it. It’s especially beautiful in Vancouver. I feel lucky to enjoy it here. And I love being a Libra because autumn is like an extra birthday gift. Thanks, Badfish! Hope you have a great weekend! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks, Alison! Your friend’s garden must be amazing! Enjoy the weekend! You’re probably packing up? Safe travels! I can’t wait for the upcoming posts from the road. And… I have an idea I’d like to get your thoughts on. I’ll email you soon. Have a fantastic trip!!! πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Wow, what a feast of colors! My first experience with autumn foliage was a few weeks ago in Japan. It was only the beginning of autumn, yet the leaves started to turn yellow. It was so pretty.

    Like

Leave a Reply

